Photo © Zatilafrah | Creative Commons
Built in 1896, the Flavel House is one of the last standing authentic Victorian buildings in the Pacific Northwest. The house was owned by Captain George Flavel as a home where he retired with his family following his career as a distinguished bar pilot.
In 1936, the property was turned over to Clatsop County where it was used as offices for the Red Cross, the Public Health Department and the Welfare Commission through World War II. In 1951, the county decided to convert the house into a museum.
The 11,600 square-foot home features a four story tower, six fireplaces, and a wrap-around porch. The house was designed in traditional Queen Anne style by German architect Carl W. Leick and took more than two years to complete. The museum is well-known by movie buffs for being the workplace of Mikey’s father in The Goonies.
The house is currently managed by the Clatsop County Historical Society and serves as an important artifact of Victorian-era architecture and the Flavel family. For more information about the Flavel House, visit cumtux.org. To plan your trip to historic Astoria, go to travelastoria.com.